Trinity Rowers Garner Post-Season Accolades

Several Trinity rowers have been recognized for their efforts on and off the water by both the NESCAC and their teammates.

The Founders’ award was endowed by a group of alumni from the classes of 1961, 1962, and 1963, who reorganized rowing at the College in 1961. The award is voted on by current members of the team and recognizes a rower(s) who demonstrates sportsmanship, the desire to excel, shown the most improvement, and reflects the stamina, zeal, and passion for rowing as those Founders did in 1961. While many athletes received at least one vote, and a few received several, Peter Teel ‘21 stood out from the rest in the voting results.

The Torch Award was established in 1962 by Mr. and Mrs. Charles Morgan and is awarded to the person(s) who has done the most to foster and perpetuate crew at Trinity. This year saw three winners, Aidan Lee ‘21 and Co-Captains Paul Swetz ‘19 and Jack Reid ‘20

The David O. Wicks ‘61 award was established to recognize freshman oarsmen who exemplify the spirit of the Founders of the Trinity College Rowing Association: the desire to excel and improve and reflecting the stamina, zeal, and passion for rowing as those Founders did in 1961. Two freshman oarsmen were recognized by the teammates for this award, Tyler Brennan ‘22 and Ryan Wenk ‘22.

In addition to internal team awards, Trinity oarsmen were also recognized by the NESCAC, highlighted by 3 athletes on the All-NESCAC first team: Swetz, Reid, and Tyler Somerville ‘21. Additionally, two more Bantams were named to the All-NESCAC second team: coxswain Abby Hart ‘19 and Nick Filosa ‘21. Each athlete was named to the respective All-NESCAC teams for the first time in their career.

The NESCAC names an All-Sportsmanship team to honor student-athletes who display an exceptional commitment to sportsmanship. This year, Duuluu Naranbat ‘19 was recognized by the NESCAC and named to this team.

Finally, three Trinity athletes were named to the NESCAC All-Academic team in recognition of maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher while competing in intercollegiate athletics. Freshman are not eligible, and transfer students must have completed at least 2 semesters at Trinity to be eligible. Both Teel and Lee were named to the All-Academic team in their first year of eligibility. Brendan Lynch ‘20 was named to the team for the 2nd time.

NESCAC Press Releases: All NESCAC, All-Sportsmanship, All-Academic

Trinity Athletics Press Releases: All NESCAC, All-Sportsmanship, All-Academic